Cryptocurrency exchange Coincheck removes four anonymity-focused altcoins

Japanese cryptocurrency exchange Coincheck will end trading for 4 privacy-oriented cryptocurrencies, Monero (XMR), Zcash (ZEC), Dash (DASH), and Augur (REP).

The removal of anonymity-focused coins will come into effect on June 18. According to Coincheck’s blog, the exchange will remove the four cryptocurrencies to comply with counter-terrorist financing (CFT) and anti-money laundering (AML) measures recently issued by Japan’s financial regulator, the Financial Services Agency (FSA).

According to Friday’s official statement from the exchange, the targeted cryptocurrencies will be sold at market price and converted to Japanese yen.

Earlier this week, Monex, the company that acquired Coincheck, revealed plans to expand the exchange to the USA, claiming that the USA and Europe are more advanced than Japan in terms of regulatory clarity and «attracting institutional investors» to crypto.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *